Product detail

Money Mania: Booms, Panics and Busts from Ancient Rome to the Great Meltdown

Money Mania: Booms, Panics and Busts from Ancient Rome to the Great Meltdown

Author: Bob Swarup
$37.00(NZD)  inc GST
Description
Money Mania is a sweeping account of financial speculation and its consequences, from ancient Rome to the Meltdown of 2008. Acclaimed journalist and investor Bob Swarup tracks the history of speculative fevers caused by the appearance of new profitable investment opportunities; the new assets created and the increasing self-congratulatory euphoria that drives them to unsustainable highs, all fed by an illusion of insight and newly minted experts; the unexpected catalysts that eventually lead to panic; the inevitable crash as investors scramble to withdraw their funds from the original market and any other that might resemble it; and finally, the brevity of financial memory that allows us to repeat the cycle without ever critically evaluating the drivers of this endless cycle. In short, it is the story of what makes us human.
Promotion info
Five centuries of financial bubbles and investment manias, told with rich historical detail and an insider's financial acumen, for fans of Michael Lewis, Liaquat Ahamed, and brilliant business writing.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781608198412
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Press
  • : March 2014
  • : 235mm X 155mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Bob Swarup
  • : 320