Product detail

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook

Author: Michael Brooks
$38.00(NZD)  inc GST
Description

This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world. The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781925322408
  • : Scribe Publications
  • : Scribe Publications
  • : August 2017
  • : 209mm X 146mm X 20mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Michael Brooks
  • : 240