Welcome to the Symphony: A Musical Exploration of the Orchestra Using Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 (Listen to the Music)

Author(s): Carolyn Sloan


This charming and interactive picture book with sound panel is like a ticket to a concert hall. Narrated by three mice, Welcome to the Symphony takes readers on a journey that begins with the musicians tuning up. Readers learn the basics: What is a conductor? What is a symphony? Who was Beethoven? The elements of music: melody, harmony, tempo. The families of instruments - strings, woodwinds, brass, and percussion. But the best part is that every idea is illustrated in sound. Nineteen sound buttons allow readers to actually hear the different parts and voices of the music. The famous beginning of the Fifth, what a clarinet sounds like, what a melody is, and what harmony is. Kids will want to match their voices to the A note that the concertmaster plays to tune the orchestra, dance to the full-throated passages and, of course, sing along to da-da-da-daah!

Product Information

Welcome to the symphony! An illustrated introduction to the world of the orchestra through Beethoven's Symphony No.5 - with nineteen sound buttons that allow children to hear how the different instruments sound, and what different musical concepts mean.

"An introduction to one of the greatest of all classical works that quite wondrously includes not just words and pictures, but some of the music itself. And to think that the musicians playing the excerpts are young people as well, members of the New York Youth Symphony! What could be more inspiring?" Ted Libbey, author of "The NPR Listener's Encyclopedia of Classical Music"--Ted Libbey"

General Fields

  • : 9780761176473
  • : Workman Publishing
  • : Workman Publishing
  • : 0.544
  • : August 2015
  • : 508mm X 212mm X 8mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Carolyn Sloan
  • : James Williamson
  • : 32
  • : illustrations